How do you tell if cookies are done?

Martha Stewart would tell you: "Bake until cookies are golden around the edges, but still soft in the center." Do this by pushing the sides of the cookie very lightly with a spatula or your finger. If the edge stays firm and doesn't fall inwards, then your cookies are done.