Why is alabama's band called the million dollar band?

The name "Million Dollar Band" was bestowed in 1922 by W. C. "Champ" Pickens. They usually had to ride all night in a day coach, and we thought it was swell when we finally got a tourist sleeper" Thus, because of the fund raising prowess, Pickens called the group the "Million Dollar Band.