What's the difference between a deputy and a sheriff?

The difference between a Sheriff and Deputy Sheriff, is a sheriff is an elected law enforcement officer, who will serve a term of service, that is usually four years. Deputy sheriffs work under the sheriff to enforce laws within their jurisdiction.