What do diamonds look like in real life?

A raw diamond looks a lot like rock candy. The color may be and shade from clear to black. A black diamond is not fully formed. The temperature and pressure may have not been enough to fully crystalize the carbon. Colored diamonds are the result of impurities in the diamond crystal.