How many people are homeless in america?

In January 2018, 552,830 people were counted as homeless in the United States. Of those, 194,467 (35 percent) were unsheltered, and 358,363 (65 percent) were sheltered. The homeless population on a single night represents 0.2 percent of the U.S. population, or 17 people per 10,000 in the population.