What is a detector in fortnite?

The detector is not a weapon. It is a part of the week 9 challenges of Fortnite Chapter 2 Season 7. They are contained in black suitcases and can be found at Pleasant Park, Boney Burbs, Craggy Cliffs, Dirty Docks, Believer Beach, Retail Row, Misty Meadows and Catty Corner.