How long does it take two cups of water to boil?

On average it takes 4 minutes to bring two cups of water to a boil; however altitude, heat source, and type of container the water is in will effect the amount of time it takes. Most importantly, do not watch the water as you bring it to a boiling, doing so will significantly delay the process.

---

In the microwave, it takes about 90 seconds. In a saucepan, it's about 3 minutes. In a frying pan, it's about 2 minutes. Chilled water takes even longer to boil. Also, high heat boils water faster than low heat. At high altitude, over 5000 feet, it takes a little longer to boil.