Can a great dane swim?

It's not certain--most dogs CAN swim, but there are some whose anatomy makes it difficult; dogs with large mouths, short legs and heavy fur are among those who don't. Great danes have very large bodies, long legs and short fur, so they may be able to swim.

---

Yes, Great Danes can swim – though they aren't naturally proficient at swimming, such as the Poodle or Golden Retriever. They can easily manage to keep their heads afloat, but not for long periods. Even so, Great Danes enjoy playing in water to cool off on a hot day.