What is a cross check in hockey?

Cross-checking is an infraction in ice hockey where a player checks or impedes an opponent by using the shaft of their stick with both hands.

---

Cross-checking is the action of using the shaft of the stick between the two hands to forcefully check an opponent with no portion of the stick on the ice