Why do we have jack o' lanterns?

The Original Jack O'Lanterns were called Jack Laterns to scare away Stingy Jack. On all Hallow's eve, the Irish hollowed out Turnips, rutabagas, gourds, potatoes and beets. They placed a light in them to ward off evil spirits and keep Stingy Jack away.