What does a. period m. period stand for?

a.m. stands for "ante meridiem". and p.m. stands for "post meridiem". These are Latin phrases meaning "before noon" and "after noon" respectively. The are used in places that utilize a 12 hour clock to indicate morning (a.m.) or evening (p.m.).