How do cars run?

A car engine is an Internal Combustion Engine (ICE). Energy is created by burning gasoline in a combustion chamber. In such an engine the energy is transferred from the pistons moving up and down at high speeds. This up-down motion is converted to a rotary motion through the crankshaft and axle.