How did bruce banner turn into the hulk?

Bruce was a gamma energy expert hired by the United States of America in hopes of turning it into a bomb. Dr.banner succeeds in doing this and would commence a test to check the bomb's power but during the testing, he was bombarded by the gamma rays which changed him into the hulk.