What came first b. c. or a. d.?

B C, stands for Before Christ, while A D, is the abbreviation of a Latin phrase: "Anno Domini," the short form of: "anno Domini nostri Jesu Christi." It translates to, The Year of Our Lord Jesus Christ. Both invented in 525, to denote the transition to the modern calendar. B.C. is 1st, & A.D. after.