When were avocados invented?

The avocado originated in south-central Mexico, sometime between 7,000 and 5,000 B.C. Sir Hans Sloane, an Irish naturalist, is believed to have coined the word “avocado” in 1696, in a catalogue of Jamaican plants. Henry Perrine, a horticulturist, first planted avocados in Florida, U.S.A. in 1833.