Why is green and red a christmas color?

Many cultures celebrate winter holy days. One of the only plants that remains green in winter is the holly plant, which has green leaves and red berries. It is often used as a symbol of life in the middle of winter - Christians celebrate Christmas as a holiday of life and hope.