Who started the secret service?

The Secret Service was founded to combat widespread counterfeiting of U.S. currency during the Civil War. In 1901, the agency was asked to begin its protective mission after the assassination of President William McKinley – the 3rd sitting U.S. President to be assassinated. Source: secretservice.gov