Is there anything brighter than the sun?

Yes the explosion of a nuclear or thermonuclear bomb

---

There are numerous stars brighter than our sun. Some lightning flashes are brighter than our sun. A nova or supernova is incredibly brighter than our sun. Quasars are incredibly brighter than our sun.