How do you do split screen on xbox fortnite?

Go to Main Menu in Fortnite. Check both controllers are connected to console & turned on. With the controllers connected, player 1 must invite player 2 to select their account. Once player 2 signs into their account, they’ll appear in the lobby split-screen mode will activate when game starts.