What is fact family mean?

A fact family is a set of three numbers that you add or subtract to get an answer. For example 4, 5, and 9 are a fact family because 4+5=9 and 5+4=9 the 9-4=5 and 9-5=4. All the same three numbers are used in all four related problems. They are related so they are called a fact family.