When did general lee surrender to general grant?

On April 9, 1865, at Appomattox Court House, Virginia, about 90 miles due west of Richmond, Virginia, Robert E. Lee surrendered his troops to Ulysses S. Grant, ending the American Civil War. Forced to abandon Richmond and blocked from joining other forces in North Carolina, Lee had no other option.