How do you calm down when you're mad?

Tell yourself to calm down. ... Force yourself to leave the situation. ... Use visualization to calm down. ... Count to 10 (or 50… or 100) if you feel like you're about to do or say something harmful. ... Splash some cold water on your face. Slow down and focus on your breathing.