Does a fish have a sense of smell?

Fish have nostrils called nares which are located on the snout above their mouths. Under the skin just below the nare openings are small sacs which contain smell receptors. Water, carrying scent, moves through the sacs. The sacs are connected to the brain by nerves, allowing the fish to smell