Why do they call ghost peppers ghost peppers?

The bhut jolokia is a naturally growing pepper that can be found primarily in northeastern India and neighboring Bangladesh. ... Due to the fact that “bhut” means “ghost” in the Assam language, this pepper is often called the “ghost pepper,” in the Western world.