Who wrote kunta kinte?

"Kunta Kinte", is not a literary work, but a person's name. Kunta Kinte is a fictional African slave, taken to 18th-century America, in the novel, "Roots: The Saga of an American Family". The novel was written in 1976, by American author Alex Haley, and later adapted as a TV series.