Is a coyote wolf?

The coyote is a canine native to North America. It's taxonomic name is Canis Latrans. The two species are related, however the coyote is not the same as the wolf, with taxonomic name Canis Lupus. In some areas, local names for coyotes include "prairie wolf" and "brush wolf"