What is a cow's cud?

Cud is a portion of food that returns from a ruminant's stomach to the mouth to be chewed for the second time. More accurately, it is a bolus of semi-degraded food regurgitated from the reticulorumen of a ruminant.

---

Cows and other animals will regurgitate partly digested food and chew it again.