What is the solution to the trolley problem?

You may be familiar with the TROLLEY PROBLEM. It begins like this, "A runaway trolley is heading down the tracks toward five workers who will all be killed if the trolley proceeds on its present course." There are many scenarios. But the solution remains the same -- save as many people as possible.