What is the fastest fastball?

The fastest pitch recognized by MLB was on September 25, 2010, at Petco Park in San Diego by then Cincinnati Reds left-handed relief pitcher Aroldis Chapman. It was clocked at 105.1mph

---

Currently, Aroldis Chapman holds the record for the fastest recorded pitch in the history of major league baseball at a speed of 105.1 mph. He has also thrown a pitch that reached 106 mph in a different game, but this speed has been disputed, so the current record sits at 105.1 mph.