How do guns work?

Guns work by using explosive energy to launch a bullet out of the barrel. When the trigger is pulled, the hammer hits the firing pin, which hits the primer that causes the powder to burn. This creates high pressure behind the bullet, forcing the bullet to leave the barrel at a very high speed.