Tell me about car engines?

Most modern cars use an internal combustion engine. More specifically, the reciprocating piston engine is most common. Most engines use a four-stroke cycle. This engine cycle consists of intake, compression, combustion and exhaust. Fuel is ignited by a spark from the spark plug, moving the pistons.