What's the sarlacc pit?

The Sarlacc is a creature from the Star Wars film Return of the Jedi. The Sarlacc is an omnivorous, multi-tentacled creature with needle-sharp teeth. In the film, Jabba the hutt attempts to drop luke skywalker and friends into a pit with the Sarlacc.