What's the sarlacc pit?

The Sarlacc is a creature from the Star Wars film Return of the Jedi. The Sarlacc is an omnivorous, multi-tentacled creature with needle-sharp teeth. In the film, Jabba the hutt attempts to drop luke skywalker and friends into a pit with the Sarlacc.

---

The Sarlacc rests in the sandy well known as the Great Pit of Carkoon, a hollow in the sand of the desert planet Tatooine. The Sarlacc is buried except for its massive mouth and beaked tongue. The pit was where Jabba the Hutt, forced prisoners into the creature's large tentacled maw in the sand.