How long is a football overtime?

10 minutes unless one team scores a touchdown or both teams possess the ball with one team scoring a field goal or safety.

---

The current NFL rules give both teams the opportunity to possess the ball at least once in overtime, unless the team that receives the overtime kickoff scores a touchdown on its first possession. If the score is still tied at the end of the one 10 minute overtime, the game will be recorded as a tie.