Who is lenny from of mice and men?

John Steinbeck, the author of Of Mice and Men, describes Lennie as a large, strong, lumbering, simple-minded man who is usually unaware of his actions and surroundings. His favorite thing to do is pet soft things. When first met, he has a dead mouse in his pocket that he is petting with his thumb.