Where is raccoon city?

On the weather map it shows Raccoon City as being approximately where Allentown, Pennsylvania is located in the real world. ... In Resident Evil: Extinction this is contradicted by the opening sequence which shows Raccoon City as being in the same geographical location as Detroit, Michigan.