What is a bayonet?

A bayonet is a blade that may be fixed to the muzzle of a rifle and used to stab an opponent in hand-to-hand fighting.

---

A bayonet is a knife or sword shaped weapon designed to fit on the end of a rifle allowing it to be used like a spear.