How strong is a desert eagle?

Chambered in .50AE loaded with 300grain (19gram) GDHP projectile and propelled to 1,550 FPS (470m/s) produces muzzle energy 1,600ft.lbf (2,200 Joules). Energy will be less for lighter and/or slower projectiles.