Why are mosquitoes so bad?

More rain means more standing water, which means more mosquitoes. Similar bouts of rain are expected in 2021, which will no doubt lead to similar increases in mosquito populations. These warmer and wetter conditions allow diseases that mosquitoes carry to be spread quicker and easier.