What type of vegetable is okra?

Okra (also known as gumbo), is a tall-growing, warm-season, annual vegetable from the same family as hollyhock, rose of Sharon and hibiscus. the part we eat is a green, finger-shaped pod filled with edible seeds (sometimes nicknamed “ladies fingers’!)