What year did the two party in america begin?

A two-party political system began in the United States almost immediately after its founding. Led by Alexander Hamilton, the Federalists were opposed by the Anti-Federalists, led by James Madison and Thomas Jefferson. The Democratic and Republican parties of today were founded in the mid-1800s.