What does margin mean?

Margin has two meanings. The first is a margin being on the edge or border of something. The second is an amount by which something is won or falls short.

---

In business, "margin" is a percentage that's used to measure the profitability of your business after expenses have been deducted from revenues. "Margin" can also refer to the edge or border of something OR an amount by which a thing is won or falls short.