Can you refreeze shredded cheese?

If the cheese was bought from the store pre-shredded, then yes. It is usually coated to prevent sticking together so it freezes nicely. For that reason, coarsely shredding a block of cheese, spreading it on a sheet pan and freezing before loosely placing it in a zip lock bag is the next best.