What is enameled metal?

Vitreous enamel, also called porcelain enamel, is a material made by fusing powdered glass to a substrate by firing, usually between 750 and 850 °C (1,380 and 1,560 °F). Enamel can be used on metal, glass, ceramics, stone, or any material that will withstand the fusing temperature.