Which country does the island of tahiti belong to?

The island of Tahiti is found in the Pacific Ocean and belongs to the country, French Polynesia.

---

Tahiti is part of French Polynesia. French Polynesia is a semi-autonomous territory of France with its own assembly, president, budget and laws.