How do you tell if a pomegranate is right?

Red, pink, white or purple, ripe pomegranates should have no trace of green on their leathery skin. Likewise, the seed sacks – called arils – may be white, pink or purple when ripe as well as familiar red. As the pomegranate ripens, the seed sacks swell, changing the shape of the fruit.