How many pounds in one gallon?

The two are different measurements for different substances. Pounds refers to WEIGHT and it's not usually for liquid measures. A gallon is a measure of VOLUME and it's for liquids. A gallon of water weighs over 8 pounds, but a gallon of oil will weigh only about 7 pounds.