What are tattoos made out of?

Black is the most commonly used tattoo ink. Natural black pigment is made from magnetite crystals, powdered jet, wustite, bone char, and amorphous carbon from combustion (soot). The ingredients of black ink are iron oxide, carbon and logwood.