Is a praying mantis a carnivore?

Yes. Praying mantis are carnivores. They attack anything smaller than they are.

---

Praying mantids are carnivores, eating mainly insects and other small animals. Many gardeners and farmers welcome mantids because the insects they eat are often pests that hurt crops. In addition to insects such as crickets and grasshoppers, mantids eat spiders, frogs, lizards, and even small birds.