Where does bird seed come from?

The most commonly used birdseed ingredients are sunflowers, corn, millet, fruits (such as raisins and cherries), and peanuts. Many of these crops come from Nebraska, Kansas, North Dakota, and South Dakota. One of the primary ingredients in birdseed is sunflower seeds.