Who is the inventor of fluorescent lamp?

Edmund Germer's development of the fluorescent lamp and the high-pressure mercury-vapor lamp increased the efficiency of lighting devices, allowing for more economical lighting while producing less heat than incandescent light. Germer was born in Berlin, the son of an accountant.